…and we’re back!

April 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

Hi everyone,

It’s been awhile since my last post and I apologize.  However, don’t let this make you think I haven’t been keeping up with the beer scene.  Quite the contrary I have been immersed since my last post.  Since my move I have brewed about 20 gallons.  I’ve since upgraded to kegging in a nice corney and a kegerator the house came with; very convenient!   Briefly, I’ve brewed a Dortmunder Lager, 2 batches of a delicious Belgian Trippel, and an India Black Ale.  The IBA and second batch of Trippel are fermenting now.  The IBA was brewed on 3/25 and the Trippel 4/1.  Both are down for 2 weeks, nothing fancy.  

As you may or may not know Triumph Brewing Company is kindly opening their doors for a 2nd Homebrew competition which will be held on Saturday June 2nd.  They will be judging in 4 different styles; IPAs, Fruits/Spices, Stouts, and Belgians.  Due to the great success with my past Trippel I decided this would be the one to enter.  It is an all grain recipe with a blend of Pilsner and Munich malts Saaz and Hallertau hops and Chimay Yeast.  It’s crisp, clean, and refreshing while still being refined and complex.

If anyone is interested in entering you can click here to access the Registration Form. And I also encourage all to like Triumph Old City on Facebook.  They have some really spectacular events and deals, not to mention fantastic brews.

Also while we are talking about local events! While having a couple good ones yesterday with Mr. Meeze at Prism Brewing Company North Wales we found a flyer for Lansdale’s 3rd annual Beer Tasting Festival.  They will be featuring over 100 Breweries and twice as many beers.  There will be a ton of local brews and a couple big names from all over the country.  This is sure to be an awesome event.  Tickets are $35 presale or $40 at the door.  Designated drivers are $10.  There is also a VIP option which gets an additional hour in the festival and access to some more coveted elixirs.  

So this is my return, I promise to keep all those in need of beer knowledge enlightened and updated.

Cheers All,

Trev.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading …and we’re back! at Ultimate Brewing..

meta

